Animals in ArtThe Art ChefFlower Power
Shattered : looking at distortionVroom Vroom
ModernismPhotographic Practice - Historic and ContemporaryPDM - The big burning question
Contemporary Photographic Practice - critical and historical researchGrand-er DesignsIndustrial Landscape - installation artLandscape Art ExhibitionPDM - Filmmaking Techniques
Contradiction
Contemporary Practice
This is the "Visual Arts Home" page of the "Visual Arts - Assignment Help and Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Visual Arts - Assignment Help and Resources   Tags: art, ceramic, installation, painting, sculpture, visual arts  

Last Updated: Oct 22, 2017 URL: http://joeys.libguides.com/VisualArts Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Visual Arts Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Welcome to Visual Arts

 

On this page, you will find general resources for Visual Arts including our library books and magazines, our research databases, useful websites, news and images. From this page you can go to topic pages under each Year tab. On these pages, you will find information catering specifically to the class topic and/or assignment. 

 

ARTAND Australia

ARTAND Australia is the region's art journal of record, continuing art historical traditions while encouraging new talent. The print journal is published twice a year (June and December), while the online site provides an archive of back issues plus many digital extras. To access the online source, click here to get the password in iLearn.

NSW Board of Studies Syllabuses

How to access copyright free images

The following websites contain royalty free images:

Flickr  allows you to share, store, search, and sort your photos. There are always plenty of images available for you to use. Flickr is free, though you will have to register if you want to upload and edit your own images. The photographers establish the terms, so read the permissions carefully. If you use someone else’s Flickr image, it’s always in good taste to link back to its source.

Google Image Search. Click “Advanced Image Search” and then click “usage rights” you can choose to search for images that are labelled for reuse, Choose “free to use or share

Picsearch: is another option for those who are not sure exactly what they are seeking. Picseach is a search engine that crawls the web and indexes images. However, make sure that you see the site’s licensing terms or contact the copyright holder before you download pictures. You can edit your search by animation, colour, or size to find exactly what you need.

History Link: An excellent collection of history related copyright free images, art, biographies, research Maps and more linked to the cultures of Africa, Aztec, China, Egypt, Greece, Mayan, Mesopotamia, Rome, Olmec, Prehistory, Middle Ages and World War II. We are continually adding new sections of Royalty Free images so be sure to "Like" our page to get the latest updates.

FreePhotosBank.com allows users to have non-exclusive, non-transferable license to images. You can search for photos, see which photos are the most popular, and which ones have the highest ratings or the most downloads.

FreeMediaGoo.com has a large collection of images, audio, textures, and other visual mediums that you can use for free with some restrictions. You do not even have to credit the images. The site also features some amazing digital images if you are looking for something different.

Behold Search Engine A visual image search engine for high quality creative commons images.

MorgueFile.com offers stock photographs in high resolution digital. With over 55,000 images, divided into several categories, they are sure to have something you can use.

Wikimedia Commons. This is especially helpful when you need older photos or photos of famous people.

Cr103 is a library of free abstract backgrounds, textures and design ideas. The materials are free to download and use, but you must credit / link to this site if you use them in any commercial application or product.

      
     

    Interview with John Olson

    John Olsen’s celebrated career has taken him on a journey through Australian landscapes, Spanish food, poetry and a range of different artmaking techniques. He has called the major retrospective of his life’s work, John Olsen: the you beaut country, ‘the finest dinner party’ he has ever been to. In conversation with Art Gallery of New South Wales Director, Dr Michael Brand, John will reflect on an extraordinary seven-decade career that has culminated in this exhibition, and hear about his energetic techniques and the lesser-known aspects of his practice, including ceiling paintings, tapestries and decorated ceramics. 

    General Art Websites

    These websites provide comprehensive art information. For specific gallery and museum websites, choose the Galleries & Museums page.

    • Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
      The Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection. It is an invaluable reference and research tool for students, educators, scholars, and anyone interested in the study of art history and related subjects. First launched in 2000, the Timeline extends from prehistory to the present day.
    • Google Art Project
      Explore collections from around the world with thousands of artworks photographed in extremely high resolution.
    • National Association for the Visual Arts
      Advocacy, advice and professional practice resources for the Australian visual arts, craft and design sector
    • ArtCyclopedia
      The Artcyclopedia is an index of online museums and image archives: find where the works of over 8,000 different fine artists can be viewed online
    • The Artist's Toolkit
      Explore the tools that artists use.
    • Diigo art link
    • The Met Collection
    • The Art Story
      The Art Story aims to sort through all the noise of the art world and shed light on modern and contemporary art. Every one of our topic pages is meant to be an analysis that would convince the most ardent skeptic in the value of the particular artist, movement, or idea.
     

    Behind the exhibition

    A view behind the scenes to see how the recent Luminous World exhibition at the National Library came to life. See how the team installed these stunning contemporary artworks from the Wesfarmers collection.

     

    Library Resources

    Books
    The non-fiction collection of the library is arranged by Dewey Decimal Classification.
    Books related to Visual Arts will be found in the following areas:

    700




    Arts
    - overview of the arts
    - dictionaries
    - art movements and periods
    - art galleries, museums

    710 Landscaping
    720 Architecture
    730    Sculpture, ceramics, metalwork
    740 Drawing, decorative arts
    750



    Painting
    - techniques
    - materials

    759

    Painting and painters by
    region/country
    760 Graphic arts, printmaking
    770 Photography, computer art
    Note:    





     
    Don't forget about other sections of the library collection that may contain useful information.  For example, history books for information about the period, or works of fiction such as "The girl with the pearl earring".

    Magazines and Newspapers
    The journals received by the library are:

    ClickView and EnhanceTV

    Use ClickView and EnhanceTV to search for documentaries, movies and television programs on the arts, artists, art history, etc.

    Art Books Online

    • Getty Museum Virtual Library
      The Virtual Library consists of texts associated with several Getty institutions. Readers can view extensively researched exhibition catalogues, detailed treatises on art conservation, and scholarly works on specialized topics. All of the Getty’s virtual library volumes are available in PDF format.
    • Met Publications, Metropolitan Museum of Art NY
      MetPublications is a portal to the Met's comprehensive publishing program with 1,500 titles, including books, online publications, and Bulletins and Journals from the last five decades. Current book titles that are in-print may be previewed and fully searched online, with a link to purchase the book. The full contents of almost all other book titles may be read online, searched, or downloaded as a PDF.
    • Guggenheim Archives, Guggenheim Museum NY
      The museum has made art catalogues available online, all free of charge. The catalogues offer an intellectual and visual introduction to the work of Alexander Calder, Edvard Munch, Francis Bacon, Gustav Klimt & Egon Schiele, and Kandinsky. Plus there are other texts (e.g., Masterpieces of Modern Art and Abstract Expressionists Imagists) that tackle meta movements and themes.
     

    PHAROS

    The Frick Collection has partnered with thirteen art institutions to establish the PHAROS Art Research Consortium, a digital research platform that will revolutionise access to photoarchives around the world. This long-term initiative will bring together photoarchive materials relating to more than 25 million works of art.

    Photoarchives were first established in the late nineteenth century, capitalizing on photography—a cutting-edge technology of the time—to reproduce images that would supplant scholars’ reliance on text descriptions, sketches, prints, and travel to study works in person. In the twentieth century, photoarchives around the world grew into rich repositories of art historical knowledge with little or no parallel. Photoarchives capture multiple images of a single work over time, as well as related documentation compiled from scholarly research, making them treasured resources of unpublished knowledge.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip