The Solar System
Plant GrowthEnergy Efficient Houses
Electromagnetic Spectrum (EMS)STDsResearch Project: Experiments
ElectronicsScience Research projects
RadioisotopesMetals
PhysicsPhysics: From ideas to implementation
This is the "Science Home" page of the "Science - Assignment Help and Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Science - Assignment Help and Resources  

Last Updated: Aug 28, 2017 URL: http://joeys.libguides.com/Science Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Science Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Your Starting Point

Destiny, the library catalogue

Use the library catalogue to find books, ClickView videos and specific, reliable websites for your task. Login using your network login to expand your access to research databases and other digital resources.


Research Databases and
Custom Search Engine

Google Education Custom Search Engine
This custom search engine will find information from credible and authoritative websites that are tailored for schools.
Research databases provide in-depth information about your topic. Click on the icon to go to iLearn for direct access to the databases.

Science Reference Center
Designed for secondary schools, public libraries, and universities, this a comprehensive database featuring full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias, and non-fiction books.   
ANZ Reference Centre
This comprehensive database covers articles from newspapers, journals and full-text reference books. If the full text of an article or report is not available on the database, please contact the library to source the document from another source.
Weblinks K-12
Weblinks sources information from credible, curriculum-based and annotated websites.
Encyclopaedia
Britannica School and World Book Online are full online encyclopaedia which also include video, audio and images. The World Book website also includes specialist databases - Innovations and Discoveries and Living Green


Bibliography maker

Use this bibliography maker to record your references.

General Science Websites

  • ABC Science
    A comprehensive website from the Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) covering all areas of science information and news, including videos, podcasts, images, RSS feeds and more.
  • BBC Science
    The science website from the BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation) with news on all things scientific.
  • CSIRO
    CSIRO, the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation, is Australia's national science agency. The website reports the latest in scientific and technological research and development.
  • Cosmos magazine
    Australia's premier science magazine website. Please note the library has access to the digital resources of the magazine.
  • National Geographic magazine
    The website of the well-known magazine provides information on natural sciences, environment, astronomy, humans and history.
  • Australian Geographic magazine
    This magazine and website focus on Australia's natural sciences, geography and the environment, including current topics and environmental issues.
  • NASA
    The US National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) provides extensive information on everything related to space, astronomy and aeronautics.
  • Australian Museum
    The Australian Museum is in Sydney and is a leading source of information on Australia's natural resources, flora and fauna, population and culture, and environment.
  • Images of Change
    Images of Change gallery features images of different locations on planet Earth, showing change over time periods ranging from centuries to days. Some of these effects are related to climate change, some are not. Some document the effects of urbanization, or the ravage of natural hazards such as fires and floods. All show our planet in a state of flux.
  • Interactive periodic table
    This pictorial periodic table provides the element's name, symbol and atomic number, plus each element box has a drawing of one of the element's main human uses or natural occurrences. The table is colour-coded to show the chemical groupings. Small symbols give additional information: solid/liquid/gas, color of element, common in the human body, common in the earth's crust, magnetic metals, noble metals, radioactive, and rare or never found in nature. (Source: elements.wlonk.com)

Climate Change and Sea Level - Interactive Maps

  • Climate change - interactive map
    Find out how temperatures are changing in your backyard with our interactive map of NASA's historical temperature record for the whole planet.
    From New Scientist website.
  • Sea Level Rise - interactive map
    As the world warms, sea level will rise - but faster in some places than others. These simulations provide the best view yet of probable regional variation over the coming decades.
    From New Scientist website.
 

Science Videos

 

Library Resources - Books

Here's where to find the Science books in the library. The numbers refer to how the books are shelved according to the Dewey Decimal Classification.
The 500 section is the main science area but relevant books may be in other areas such as those shown.

500 General science including encyclopaedia, biographies
510 Mathematics
520 Astronomy
530 Physics
540 Chemistry
550 Earth science and geology
560 Fossils and prehistoric life
570 Biology
580 Plants  (botany)
590 Animals (zoology)


150 Psychology
333.7_  _    Environment and sustainability  
333.91 Water and water supply
333.95 Biodiversity
363.7_ _  Climate change
600 Technology
610 Medicine and health
620 Engineering
630 Agriculture
660 Genetic engineering

 

 

Library Resources - Magazines


Australasian Science is Australia’s longest-running scientific publication. It has been Australia’s authority on science since 1938 when it was first published as The Australian Journal of Science by the Australian National Research Council.


Cosmos is a leading literary science magazine, published in Australia but with a global reach. It makes the world of science accessible to everyone.


New Scientist is the world’s leading science and technology news weekly.It is a current affairs medium that discusses science and technology in a global context and reports on the commercial, industrial and social consequences that affect us all.

 

Australian Geographic is a bimonthly magazine covering geography, science, exploration, wildlife, travel and adventure within Australia.

 


Habitat is the quarterly environmental magazine published by the Australian Conservation Foundation. It is a collection of stories by writers, campaigners, advocates and artists – all with a belief we can do better by our environment.


The National Geographic Society has been inspiring people to care about the planet since 1888. It is one of the largest nonprofit scientific and educational institutions in the world. Its interests include geography, archaeology and natural science, and the promotion of environmental and historical conservation.




Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip