Ancient EgyptAncient Qin Dynasty ChinaMedieval EuropeSpotlight on History
World War I editorial - individuals
KokodaThe Home Front in WWIIPopular CultureTobrukVietnam WarWhitlam, Prime Minister
Albert SpeerAnglo-Zulu WarBattle of StalingradCivil Rights in the US 1950s and 60sLeni Riefenstahl
Archaeological SitesGladiatorsMycenaean/Spartan Society
CusterGangs and gangsters
Politics and SportSouth AfricaWorld War II Turning points
This is the "History Home" page of the "History - Assignment Help and Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History - Assignment Help and Resources  

Last Updated: Oct 19, 2017 URL: http://joeys.libguides.com/History Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

History Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the History Homepage

On this Homepage you will find general resources for History: our library books and magazines, our research databases, useful websites, news and images.

Find specific information for assessments and class topics under the Year tabs.
Additional tabs have news, fun and games, and career information.

 

Your Starting Point

Destiny:
library catalogue

Search for books, articles, videos and websites for your topic.

Log in with your network login to access to research databases and other digital resources.



Research
databases

Research databases
provide in-depth
information on your topic.

Click on the icon to go to iLearn for secure and direct access to the databases.

Recommended databases for this topic:
  • World Book
  • Britannica Online
  • Weblinks Online
  • History Reference Center

Bibliography
maker

Create your bibliography using this website.

Use your login to record your references.

 

Topic Websites

  • Gallipoli and the ANZACs
    A comprehensive website on Gallipoli developed by the Dept of Veterans Affairs and BOSTES.
  • Gallipoli, the first day
    An ABC 3D documentary site about the World War 1 landing at Gallipoli, on 25 April 1915.
  • Australian Army - Our history
    Historical information from the Australian Army including primary materials and specific battle and operation information.
  • Voices of the Holocaust
    Voices of the Holocaust consists of oral history testimonies gathered from Jewish men and women who came to live in Britain during or after WWII. These testimonies are personal, individual, true stories, that describe the hardships of life during Hitler's reign.
 

This Day in History

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Useful Websites - Australia

  • Australian Historical Association
    The AHA was founded in 1973 and is the premier national organisation of historians - academic, professional and other - working in all fields of history. Its members number more than 800, including universities, libraries and other affiliates.
  • Royal Australian Historical Society
    The Royal Australian Historical Society (RAHS), Australia’s oldest historical organisation founded in Sydney in 1901, promotes the study of Australian history. The library contains a valuable research collection of more than 60,000 items on Australian history.
  • National Archives of Australia
    The National Archives of Australia can best be described as the memory of our nation – collecting and preserving Australian Government records that reflect our history and identity. Our collection traces events and decisions that have shaped the nation and the lives of Australians
  • National Film and Sound Archive
    The National Film and Sound Archive of Australia is the nation’s living archive, collecting, preserving and sharing our rich audiovisual heritage.
  • National Library of Australia
    The National Library has a responsibility for maintaining and disseminating Australia's cultural heritage. The Library’s role is to ensure that documentary resources of national significance relating to Australia and the Australian people, as well as significant non-Australian library materials, are collected, preserved and made accessible either through the Library itself or through collaborative arrangements with other libraries and information providers.
  • Australian War Memorial
    The Australian War Memorial combines a shrine, a world-class museum, and an extensive archive. The Memorial's purpose is to commemorate the sacrifice of those Australians who have died in war. Its mission is to assist Australians to remember, interpret and understand the Australian experience of war and its enduring impact on Australian society.
  • National Trust of Australia and State branches
    The National Trusts of Australia are community-based, non-government organisations, committed to promoting and conserving Australia's indigenous, natural and historic heritage through its advocacy work and its custodianship of heritage places and objects.
  • NSW State Archives
    Research and explore the official archives of the State of New South Wales. Access catalogues, guides and fact sheets, search indexes of names and places and browse our online galleries.
  • Diigo history links

Useful Websites - International

  • British Library - History Timeline
    This British Library timeline allows you to explore collection items chronologically, from medieval times to the present day. It includes a diverse combination of texts: those that allow glimpses of everyday life (handbills, posters, letters, diaries), remnants of political events (charters, speeches, campaign leaflets), and the writings of some of our best known historical and literary figures.
  • Imperial War Museums, UK
    IWM is unique in its coverage of conflicts, especially those involving Britain and the Commonwealth, from the First World War to the present day. We seek to provide for, and to encourage, the study and understanding of the history of modern war and 'wartime experience'.
  • National Museum of American History
    Through incomparable collections, rigorous research, and dynamic public outreach, we explore the infinite richness and complexity of American history. We help people understand the past in order to make sense of the present and shape a more humane future.
  • Archaeological Institute of America
    The AIA promotes archaeological inquiry and public understanding of the material record of the human past to foster an appreciation of diverse cultures and our shared humanity. The AIA supports archaeologists, their research and its dissemination, and the ethical practice of archaeology. The AIA educates people of all ages about the significance of archaeological discovery and advocates the preservation of the world’s archaeological heritage.
  • British Pathe
    Before television, people came to movie theatres to watch the news. British Pathé was at the forefront of cinematic journalism, blending information with entertainment to popular effect. Over the course of a century, it documented everything from major armed conflicts and seismic political crises to the curious hobbies and eccentric lives of ordinary people. If it happened, British Pathé filmed it. Now considered to be the finest newsreel archive in the world, British Pathé is a treasure trove of 85,000 films unrivalled in their historical and cultural significance.
  • Google Cultural Institute
    Discover museum and artefacts from all round the world
  • History's Heroes
    Learn about history and what makes a hero
  • The History Guide
    A list of internet resources for historians compiled by a history lecturer.
 

Australian War Memorial Video Collection

 

World War I Diaries

World War I was a defining moment in Australian history. To document the war to end all wars the State Library of NSW began collecting, from 1918, the personal stories of soldiers – their diaries, letters, photographs and drawings — the war as they actually lived it.

This amazing collection – including some 1140 volumes of diaries written by over 500 servicemen and women — is supported by newspapers, photographs, maps and ephemera. The Library’s collections are some of the richest — but also the least known — records of the Australian experience of World War I.

Click on the image above to go to the exhibition page and its resources.

 

Library Resources

Books
The non-fiction collection of the library is arranged by Dewey Decimal Classification.
Books related to History will be found in the following areas:

900 General
909 World history
920-9 Biography, genealogy
930 Ancient world to ca.499
937 Ancient Rome
938 Ancient Greece
940 Western Europe
970 North America
994 Australia
     

Magazines and Newspapers
Archeology
Australian Geographic
BBC History Magazine
Current World Archaeology
National Geographic
Wartime
Sydney Morning Herald


ClickView
Use ClickView to search for documentaries, movies and television programs on history.

Library Resources - Magazines

  • BBC History
    The website of the BBC History magazine.
  • Wartime magazine
    Wartime is devoted to the Australian experience of war; military history; and the effects of war on society. Articles deal fully and frankly with both the distressing and the lighter sides of war. Every issue delivers the stories of courage and survival of both service personnel and civilians.

  • National Geographic
    The National Geographic Society has been inspiring people to care about the planet since 1888. It is one of the largest nonprofit scientific and educational institutions in the world. Its interests include geography, archaeology and natural science, and the promotion of environmental and historical conservation.

Podcasts

  • BBC History Extra podcasts
    The History Extra podcast comes out every week, featuring interviews with notable historians talking about topics ranging from crusading knights to Tudor monarchs and the D-Day landings. It's free to listen to, and all the past editions of the podcast, going back to June 2007, are still available online for you to download.
  • ABC Radio podcasts
    Wide-ranging historical topics and the back-story to understanding current events (from various ABC radio programs).
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip