Inequality in our World: General informationMountain LandsRio de JaneiroWorld Heritage
BiomesFood SecurityNatural hazards
Contemporary Geographic IssuesMigrationOcean Resources
Rice ProductionSenior Geography Project
This is the "Geography Home" page of the "Geography - Assignment Help and Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Geography - Assignment Help and Resources   Tags: fishing, geography, ocean, overfishing, pollution, whales  

Last Updated: Nov 5, 2017 URL: http://joeys.libguides.com/Geography Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Geography Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Welcome to the Geography Home page in LibraryHQ.

On this page, you will find general resources for Geography including our library books and magazines, our research databases, useful websites, news and images.
From this page you can go to topic pages under each Year tab. On these pages, you will find information catering specifically to the class topic and/or assignment. There is also a page labelled Fun Stuff which has links to games, puzzles and quizzes.

NSW Board of Studies Syllabuses

 

Research Databases

 Start your research with these databases. They are accessed via JNet so if you are outside school, you will need to login.

DATABASES

ANZ Reference Centre

World Book Encyclopaedia

Encyclopaedia Britannica

NewsBank
Weblinks K - 12  

 

Don't forget your bibliography!

Use this bibliography maker to record your references. Use your login to access the full functionality of this application.

 

National Geographic Photo of the Day

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Useful Websites

  • CSIRO
    CSIRO, the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation, is Australia's national science agency and one of the largest and most diverse research agencies in the world.
  • Bureau of Meteorology
    The Bureau of Meteorology is Australia's national weather, climate and water agency. Its expertise and services assist Australians in dealing with the harsh realities of their natural environment, including drought, floods, fires, storms, tsunami and tropical cyclones.
  • Geoscience Australia
    Geoscience Australia is Australia’s national geoscience agency and exists to apply geoscience to Australia’s most important challenges. Geoscience Australia provides geoscientific advice and information to the Australian Government to support it to deliver its priorities.
  • ABC Network - Climate Change
  • United Nations Environment Programme
    UNEP, established in 1972, is the voice for the environment within the United Nations system. UNEP acts as a catalyst, advocate, educator and facilitator to promote the wise use and sustainable development of the global environment.
  • National Geographic archive
    Digital access to all issues of the National Geographic magazine since 1888, including an interactive map with locations of articles.
    Please go to iLearn Journals page to get the login details.
  • Diigo geography link
  • Worldometers
    Worldometers is run by an international team of developers, researchers, and volunteers with the goal of making world statistics available in a thought-provoking and time relevant format to a wide audience around the world. We have no political, governmental, or corporate affiliation.
    The statistics include population, environment, health, economics, government, energy.
  • Images of Change
    Images of Change gallery features images of different locations on planet Earth, showing change over time periods ranging from centuries to days. Some of these effects are related to climate change, some are not. Some document the effects of urbanization, or the ravage of natural hazards such as fires and floods. All show our planet in a state of flux.
  • The Great Energy Challenge
    This comprehensive website from National Geographic includes the latest news about resources, renewables, best practices and inovations. There are also interactive features (calculators, quizzes).
  • All about water
    From the ABC Splash website, videos and articles about many aspects of water: biology, weather, conservation, science, etc.
 

Library Resources

Books
The non-fiction collection of the library is arranged by Dewey Decimal Classification.
Books related to Geography will be found in the following areas:

910       Geography and travel
911 Historical geography
913-919            Specific continents,
countries and localities
301-307 Social groups, communities
330s Resource use
(land and water);
Environmental issues
 

Library Resources - Magazines

Current Environmental Issues is a fortnightly news clippings service of selected and reformatted newspaper articles from all the major metropolitan newspapers covering energy resources, fishing industry, pollution, recycling, water power and resources, conservation, etc.

Australian Geographic is a bimonthly magazine covering geography, science, exploration and wildlife within Australia

Habitat is the quarterly environmental magazine published by the Australian Conservation Foundation. It is a collection of stories by writers, campaigners, advocates and artists – all with a belief we can do better by our environment

The National Geographic Society has been inspiring people to care about the planet since 1888. It is one of the largest nonprofit scientific and educational institutions in the world. Its interests include geography, archaeology and natural science, and the promotion of environmental and historical conservation.
There is also digital access to the Nat Geo archive available - please use the link under the Useful Websites box. You will need the login details to access the information.
 
Farming Ahead, published by the Kondinin Group, is Australia's leading source of independent information for agriculture covering all aspects of farming and primary industries. As part of our subscription, we have access to their online search facility. Please go to the Resources Centre iLearn page for the login.
 

Latest Books

Cover Art
The atlas of human migration: global patterns of people on the move - Russell King
Call Number: 304.809 KIN
ISBN: 9781849711500
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
Great Australian shearing stories - Bill "Swampy" Marsh
Call Number: 636.6 MAR
ISBN: 9780733322310
Publication Date: 2001

Cover Art
Two all-action adventures - Bear Grylls
Call Number: 910.92 GRY
ISBN: 9780230761520
Publication Date: 2011

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip