Biomedical Engineering
This is the "Engineering Studies" page of the "Engineering Studies - Assignment Help and Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Engineering Studies - Assignment Help and Resources  

Last Updated: May 21, 2017 URL: http://joeys.libguides.com/EngineeringStudies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Engineering Studies Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Your Starting Point

Destiny, the library catalogue

Use the library catalogue to find books, ClickView videos and specific, reliable websites for your task. Login using your network login to expand your access to research databases and other digital resources.

Suggested search terms:


Research Databases

Research databases provide in-depth information about your topic.
Click on the icon to go to iLearn for direct access to the databases.



Bibiography maker

Use this bibliography maker to record your references.
Login to use all the functions.

 

NSW Board of Studies Syllabuses

 

Smart Searching

Use Boolean Logic Operators (AND, OR, NOT)

All databases rely on the use of Boolean logic operators, even Google.

You can use the words AND, OR, NOT to refine your search terms. (make sure you use capitol letters)

  • OR - Retrieves records that contain all the search terms
  • AND - Retrieves records that contain both search terms and therefore narrows the search. You can also use the + icon instead of AND eg cat AND dog will find sources that contain both the words cat and dog
  • NOT - Eliminates records that contain a search term. eg cats NOT dogs will not show any sites that contain the word "dogs". You can use the - symbol instead of the word NOT

Image from Aberdeen Library website: 

Other Search Operators

  • To search for an exact word or phrase use quote marks "search". For example "human rights law"
  • To search within a specified site or domain. For example, to find all mentions of "human rights" on the ABC website search: human rights site:abc.net.au.
  • To find pages that link to a certain pages. For example find all govenment sites using "au"-  search: 
    human rights link:gov.au.
 Truncating Symbols  Example
Use asterisk * to search both pural and single form of word  work* finds work, works
Use asterisk * to search using base or root of a word

work* finds work, works, worker, workplace etc.

 Use question mark ? to substitute letter for multiple spellings 

 organi?ation finds organization, organisation

 

Engineering Studies - What is Engineering?

Useful Websites

  • NSW HSC Online
    CSU website for HSC Engineering Studies.
  • How Stuff Works
    Working like an Internet search engine, this fascinating site allows users to locate information on: how virtually any object with moving parts works; and the meaning of commonly used terms, phrases or customs.
  • NEEDS: A digital library for Engineering Education
    Engineering students and teachers will appreciate this digital library of online learning materials. The site is a useful portal for a comprehensive collection of resources in engineering and related areas of science and mathematics.
  • USYD: Aerodynamics; aeronautics; aerospace; aircraft design; aircraft propulsion; flight mechanics; mechatronic engineering
    The University of Sydney’s School of Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering provides an excellent introduction to the scope of this field.
  • ARUP
    Arup is an intriguing and company that specialises in integrating sustainability with innovative building and engineering design. The magnificent Projects described here have multiple connections to TAS syllabuses and form an excellent resource for students.
  • ATSE: Views on technology strategy, development and policy
    This detailed and easily navigable site provides a forum to disseminate information by way of recent papers, workshop activities and discussion boards. The section History of technology in Australia - 1788-1988 offers valuable material for projects relating to the innovation and technological development that took place in Australia in the first two hundred years of European settlement.
  • Year 11 NSW Engineering Studies photovoltaics elective module course packs
    An extensive resource for teachers and students on photovoltaics (solar panels), the site contains a course pack which includes diagrams, notes, worksheets, and multiple choice quizzes. There are videos in MPEG-1 form and teachers’ notes. The course pack is displayed in PowerPoint and it allows students to complete self paced study.
  • How Bridges Work
    The site takes an in-depth look at the three major types of bridges: the beam bridge, the arch bridge and the suspension bridge. It clearly and engagingly shows the forces dealt with in bridge design, construction and operation.
 

Library Resources

These books, journals and ClickView videos ...

Cover Art
Engineers - Peggy Burns
Call Number: 320.00922 BUR
Publication Date: 1997

Cover Art
Extreme Engineering - Rosen Publishing Group (Created by)
Call Number: 600 EXT
Publication Date: 2007

Cover Art
The Spotters Guide to Urban Engineering - Claire Barratt
Call Number: 624 BAR
ISBN: 9781742233109
Publication Date: 2011
.
The Spotter's Guide to Urban Engineering is an exciting guide to the technology that underpins modern life. Richly illustrated, it celebrates the wonders of science, engineering and technology in the modern world. Each chapter explores the developments and various engineering features and structures, detailing what they are, what they do, how they do it, and, most importantly, how to identify them.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip