This is the "Digital Library Home" page of the "Digital Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Digital Library   Tags: databases research  

Last Updated: May 5, 2016 URL: http://joeys.libguides.com/DigitalLibrary Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Digital Library Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Catalogues

Scroll down this column to search
the BLRC Library catalogue
and
also other library catalogues.

.

BLRC Library
The contents of the Resources Centre are in this catalogue including books, magazines, DVDs, CDs, eBooks, ClickView videos.

 

 

National Library of Australia
Trove is the online catalogue of all items in the NLA collection and other Australian libraries.

 

 

State Library of NSW
The State Library of NSW

 

Encyclopaedias

These databases are general reference encyclopaedias.

Britannica Online School offers encyclopaedias and related materials for students of all school levels. The content is available for primary, middle and high school and students can move quickly from one level to another within the database.      

This link takes you to the World Book Super collective home page with several databases. For encyclopaedia, choose either Student or Advanced. The Timelines database is also a useful general tool.

 

Biography Reference Databases

The Australian Dictionary of Biography is Australia's pre-eminent dictionary of national biography. In it you will find concise, informative and fascinating descriptions of the lives of significant and representative persons in Australian history.

English Reference Databases

This comprehensive, full-text database provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.

AustLit makes available authoritative bibliographical and production information for works of fiction and poetry, writing for the theatre, biographical and travel writing, writing for film and television, criticism and reviews. It also provides biographical and historical information about the people and organisations who associated with the works covered.

Username: ncat
Password: ncat

NoveList Plus is the premiere database of reading recommendations, available through libraries around the world. It is a comprehensive source of information about books that includes expert recommendations, reviews, articles, lists and more.
Magpies is a main source of information about children's  books and reading in Australia. It contains reviews of current children's and young adult books as well as articles, short stories, poetry, awards and support material. There is also a magazine published five times per year to which
the library subscribes.
ReadPlus is a collection of over 10,000 selected books and films arranged under themes for librarians, teachers and parents about books for young people aged 5 to 18. Lists of books and films under subject headings can be generated. The books range from picture books to adult fiction and are organised into different age categories. You can search for books using theme, author, title, genre and age-range.

AustralianPlays.org is the world’s online showcase of the best Australian playwriting, featuring the combined catalogues of Australia's leading theatrical publishers.

To read full scripts or purchase plays, please contact the library.

      
     

    General Reference Databases

     

    ANZ Reference Centre provides a comprehensive and up-to-date collection of sources including leading Australian and New Zealand newspapers and journals, plus many international journals; full-text reference books; tens of thousands of full-text biographies and a collection of images of over half a million photos, maps and flags.

     

    NewsBank is a database which provides comprehensive coverage of local, regional and national newspapers. It offers full-text content of both current and archived issues on science, politics, health, education, environment, sports, entertainment and more.
    Username: joeys            Password:  joeys

     

      Points of View contains resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides the basis from which students can realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

     

    Weblinks Online is a searchable online database with thousands of teacher-reviewed, approved and annotated web sites, and 80 to 100 new sites added monthly. Users can easily search the database by key word, learning area, subject heading, article identification number or 'What's new'.

     

    Science Reference Databases

    Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text, science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student researcher's needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources  

     

    Religion Reference Databases

     The online arm of the Catholic Weekly newspaper provides Catholic news stories, news video and news comment from the best and most trusted local, national and global Catholic news sources, updated daily.

    World Religions Online is an unbiased and comprehensive guide to the world's major religions and spiritual traditions, World Religions Online explores religion and spirituality in an objective manner, from the ceremonies of the first practitioners to the elaborate rituals of today.

    Username:  joeys        Password:   library

     

    Art and Music Reference Databases

    Oxford Art Online  offers access to authoritative, inclusive and
    easily searchable online art resources. It includes major
    reference sources: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary
    of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford 
    Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford 
    Dictionary of Art Terms.
    Oxford Music Online  is offers users access to multiple 
    music reference resources in one location including
    Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music
     and The Oxford Dictionary of Music

     

    History Reference Databases

    Australian History Mysteries are case studies are designed to develop the skills needed in pursuing historical studies. They are relevant to Australian Curriculum : History with its emphasis on inquiry learning and historical skills development. Each case study contains a wide range of primary and secondary source evidence, including museum objects, national archival collections and historic sites.

    Active History is provides entertaining, educational award-winning interactive simulations, decision-making games, self-marking quizzes, high-quality worksheets and detailed lesson plans for teachers and students.

    To access the website: 
    Username:      stjosephscoll
    Password:       brc66

    Designed for academic research, the History Reference Center database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.

    Dynamic Learning Online
    Australian and World History
     is an online library for Australian and world history. It contains over 70 titles and more than 2000 historical images.

    Username:  histgen
    Password:   histgenxx

    Dynamic Learning Online World War I & Gallipoli is an Australian-developed major World War I & Gallipoli database containing many titles and documentaries associated with World War I History, and in particular Gallipoli.

    Username:  wwfirst
    Password:   wwfirstxx

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip